

Appendix1 International Organizations and Abbreviations

I.Some international organizations and the members included are as following,

Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), has 38 members, i.e., Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Columbia, Costa Rica.

European Union (**EU**), it expanded to 27 members, i.e., France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Denmark, Ireland, Greece, Spain, Portugal, Austria, Finland, Sweden, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Bulgaria, Romania and Croatia.

European Monetary Union (Euro Area), it has 19 members and member countries are Germany, Belgium, Austria, Netherlands, France, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Luxembourg, Ireland, Finland, Greece, Slovenia, Cyprus, Malta, Slovak, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.

Association of South East Asian Countries (ASEAN), it has 10 members, i.e., the Philippines, Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore, Indonesia, Brunei Darussalam (1984), Viet Nam (1995), Myanmar (1997), Lao People's Democratic Republic (1997) and Cambodia (1999).

North American Free Trade Area(NAFTA), was founded on January 1, 1994, with members unchanged hitherto, i.e., Canada, Mexico and the United States.

Group 7, includes the United States, Japan, the United Kingdom, Germany, France, Italy and Canada.

II. Countries (territory) groups and their meanings are as following,

Countries by Income Group According to the criteria by the World Bank, countries and territories (referred to as economies) are classified into high income (higher than \$12536), higher middle income (between \$4046 and \$12535), lower middle income (between \$1036 and \$4045) and low income (\$1035 and below) groups by their per capita GNI (calculated by Atlas method)in the year 2019.

Developed and Developing Countries or Areas There is no established convention for the designation of "developed" and "developing" countries or areas in the United Nations system. In common practice, Japan, Cyprus, Israelin Asia, Canada, the United States, Bermuda, Greenland, Saint Pierre and Miquelon in northern America, Australia, New Zealand, Heard Island and McDonald Islands, Norfolk Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Christmas Island in Oceania, and Europe are considered "developed" regions or areas. Advanced economies in International Monetary Fund (IMF) are composed of 39 countries: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong SAR, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao SAR, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Puerto Rico, San Marino, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan Province of China, United Kingdom, and United States. Others are emerging market and developing economies.

III. The abbreviations used in this book and their meanings are as following,

Sq.km=square kilometer ha = hectare kwh = kilowatt-hour g = gram kg = kilogram TJ = terojoule (10¹² joule) TCE = ton of standard coal equivalent TOE = ton of standard oil equivalent UNSD = Statistics Division of the United Nations IMF = International Monetary Funds FAO = Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations UNCTAD = United Nations Conference on Trade and Development UNDP = United Nations Development Program ILO = International Labor Organization WHO = World Health Organization